The Duff Cooper Prize was first awarded in 1956, to the historian and war-correspondent Alan Moorehead for Gallipoli, his now-classic account of the 1915-16 Dardanelles campaign.

Winners since then have included works of social and political history, biography, memoir, travel-writing, literary criticism, nature-writing and poetry.

  • 2022

    Anna Keay

    The Restless Republic: Britain without a Crown


  • 2021

    Mark Mazower

    The Greek Revolution: 1821 and the Making of Modern Europe

  • 2020

    Judith Herrin

    Ravenna Capital of Empire, Crucible of Europe

  • 2019

    John Barton

    A History of the Bible

  • 2018

    Julian Jackson

    A Certain Idea of France: The Life of Charles de Gaulle

  • 2017

    Anne Applebaum

    Red Famine: Stalin's War on Ukraine

  • 2016

    Christopher de Hamel

    Meetings with Remarkable Manuscripts

  • 2015

    Ian Bostridge

    Schubert's Winter Journey - Anatomy of an Obsession

    Faber & Faber

  • 2014

    Patrick McGuinness

    Other People’s Countries: A Journey into Memory